Vegetarian, Vegan, Pescetarian, Flexitarian? What are these and what are the differences?

Wow. Three posts in a row that talk about vegetarianism. This should be it for a while though, I hope. I kind of felt the need to explain the differences between the four terms in the title, since I know people who don’t really look into this kind of thing don’t know these terms. They’re really good to know though!

No-Meat Diet Preferences:
Vegetarian – someone who doesn’t eat meat (red meats, poultry, seafood, etc.), but may eat eggs and/or dairy products.

If they eat both eggs & dairy, they’re called a lacto-ovo vegetarian.

If they abstain from dairy products, but not eggs, they’re called an ovo vegetarian.

A lacto vegetarian eats dairy products, but does not eat eggs.

Generally though, you can use “vegetarian” as a catch all term.

(In short: Vegetarian = No meat, poultry, or seafood.)

Vegan – someone who does not eat ANY animal products. This includes dairy and eggs. So no red meat, seafood, poultry, dairy, eggs, etc. If it comes from an animal they do not eat it.

(In short: Vegan = no animal products)

Some Meat Diet Preferences:
Pescetarian – someone who abstains from meats such as red meats and poultry, but will eat seafood, in addition to other things a vegetarian diet will consist of (fruits, veggies, etc.)

(In short: Pescetarian = seafood, but no meat or poultry)

Flexitarian – basically, someone who is vegetarian, but occasionally might eat meat products.

(In short: Flexitarian = usually doesn’t eat meat, poultry, or seafood, but may do so occasionally)

Again, I claim to the vegetarian title, but some of the stricter vegetarians who would be upset with me eating French Onion Soup and knowing I’m consuming beef broth might want to label me a flexitarian instead.

So…yeah. I hope for those who weren’t clear on the terms are more clear on them now.